Memory Lane

Memory Lane

Yuri Honing with ensemble

Label: Turtle Records
Format: CD
Barcode: 8713606100105
Catalog number: TRSA 0010
Releasedate: 01-01-00
Yuri Honing - soprano and tenor saxophones
Emily Beynon - flute
Maarten Ornstein - clarinet and bass clarinet
Jacob Slagter - French horn
Keiko Iwate - violin
Fred Pot - cello
Frans van der Hoeven - double bass
Achim Kaufmann - piano
Joost Lijbaart - drums
Henk Meutgeert - conductor

‘Memory Lane’ is the first album in which Yuri gives way to the lyrical, romantic corners of his personality. “I wanted hot tears, tremendously beautiful at every moment, striving for a certain poignancy. This music is to move people, and not just those who know a thing or two about music.” Yuri admits that there was a time when he was a little embarrassed to be so outspoken. “This is new for me. I’m getting older and wiser and am less and less ashamed of who I really am. That’s very important in music, although you must choose the right moment to express that, so that it’s worth listening to. While people often ineffectively hide behind complex improvisation, the importance of credibility increases if you play music that has a foundation that everyone can understand. With this music there’s no way out, and I am so happy that the right people showed up for the right construction, and that it all worked out.”