Peace - Ode to the music of Ornette Coleman

Peace - Ode to the music of Ornette Coleman

Ruff Sound Quartet

Label: Challenge Records
Format: CD
Barcode: 0608917335521
Catalog number: CR 73355
Releasedate: 21-09-12
The musical ideas of Ornette Coleman have lost nothing of their power; they are still a source of inspiration for musicians such as the great RUFF SOUND QUARTET!
  • ‘Peace, Ode to the music of Ornette Coleman’
  • The enormous power of the music of Ornette Coleman is still very much alive
  • It is a great inspiration to the Ruff Sound Quartet
  • The quartet are no imitators but use the material and makeit their own!
  • First, debut CD, recorded at the Fattoria Musica Studio in Osnabrück with sound technician Chris Weeda
  • All recordings were done live, in one room, without any overdubs
  • Five of Ornette’s compositions and one of Charlie Haden with three originals by members of the quartet

The American saxophonist Ornette Coleman was one of the important founders of the free-jazz movement at the end of the 1950s. His musical approach was less rigid compared to be-bop musicians. He searched for new forms of improvisation and musical freedom. With HARMOLODICS he moved beyond the restraints of the harmony and form of be-bop and came up with a more raw and intuitive music, less academic and focused more on energy and emotion.

Half a century later the musical ideas of Ornette Coleman have lost nothing of their power; they are still a source of inspiration for many musicians. Early in 2009 the RUFF SOUND QUARTET was formed, initiated by drummer Pascal Vermeer. The quartet plays various Ornette pieces from the ‘60s. Freely using the improvisational possibilities this chordless music offers, anarchy and adventure blossom.
After a few successful concerts, the Ruff Sound Quartet went to Osnabrück, Germany to record their first CD at the Fattoria Musica Studio with sound technician Chris Weeda. All recordings were done live, in one room, without any overdubs.

On ‘Peace, Ode to the music of Ornette Coleman’ you will find five of Ornette’s compositions and one of Charlie Haden with three originals by members of the quartet.
Pascal Vermeer
Born in 1967 in Tilburg, The Netherlands.  Started to play the drums at the age of seven. Received private instruction under the accomplished. American drummer Steve Clover.

As a member of the jazz quintet Iris, Pascal Vermeer won the “Meervaart Contest”of the Dutch Broadcast Foundation (NOS) Pascal Vermeer performed concerts in Burkina Faso, China, Malta, Cyprus, Turkey, Germany, Greece, United Kingdom, Spain, France, Belgium, Luxemburg, Italy, Latvia, Austria, Egypt, South-Africa, Switzerland, Norway, Cuba, Costa Rica and the U.S.A.

Performed with many groups and musicians ; Michiel Borstlap Trio, Eric Vloeimans’ Gatecrash, Jeroen van Vliet Trio, Dick de Graaf Quartet,  Lewinsky Quartet, Kristina Fuchs/Theo Loevendie, Laetitia van Krieken Big Bang, Flaco Jimenez, Anton Goudsmit, Feya Faku, Dave Stewart, Jesse van Ruller, Jarmo Hoogendijk, Ben van de Dungen, Harmen Fraanje, Benjamin Herman, Tineke Postma, Adrian Mears, Andrea Pozza, David Murray, Joris Posthumus Quartet and many others.

Pascal Vermeer is official endorser of Ludwig drums and Istanbul Agop cymbals.As a drummer he assisted in the production of about 40 cd’s.

Mete Erker is a saxophone player from Holland.He is renowned for his rich and warm sound, strong drive, and his very personal style and expressive way of playing: a combination of raw energy and lyricism, at times reminiscent of the great jazz tenors of the ’60′s.Throughout the years he’s worked with music masters like Peter Erskine, David Liebman, senegalese master drummer Doudou N’Diaye Rose, southafrican jazz legend Winston Mankunku, and russian piano virtuoso Simon Nabatov. He released 50+ albums and toured the world in a variety of settings, ranging from  a modern dance choreography by the hungarian Reka Szabo to popular dutch crossover acts like New Cool Collective and Zuco 103.

 Currently Mete Erker is working with the Artvark Saxophone Quartet featuring classical soprano Claron McFadden, dutch-impro-group Estafest, his jazztrio Blink, the NUjazzgroup FullDuppleXX, electronic soundwizard Michel Banabila, and off course:  the Ruff Sound Quartet.

Alto saxophonist and composer Joris Posthumus has been making music since he was six years old. He studied at the conservatories of Rotterdam and Tilburg. In 2009 Joris recorded the album ‘The Abyss’ together with: Sound technician Chris Weeda, pianist Jeroen van Vliet, drummer Pascal Vermeer and bass player Jurriaan Dekker (feat Tom Beek). This First album, ‘The Abyss’,  was released by record company Challenge Records in 2010. This album presents dynamic jazz of a high NU-bop energetic quality. The biting alto saxophone of Joris , who whipped up by the strong rhythm section explores all corners of the improvisation spectrum, is characteristic for the sound of the Quartet. Another characteristic is the melody, an important ingredient of Joris’s compositions, which will always sound through.

Making music is all about the chemistry between the musicians. With this group, Joris feels that all-important  ‘click’.  In this formation the band toured the Netherlands with the famous American tenor saxophonist David Murray as a guest. They played at the North Sea festival, but also on other famous Dutch Jazz venues during the Young VIPs tour, e.a. the  Bimhuis in Amsterdam and LantarenVenster in Rotterdam. The album ‘The Abyss’ was received with a great deal of enthusiasm by the jazz scene, in the Netherlands as well as abroad.

Guus Bakker started playing guitar when he was 11 years old  definitely switching to the electric bass on his 14th. From 1999 he studied at the Rotterdams Conservatory, both electric and acoustic bass. Completing his master exam in 1996.

Next to a modest teaching job at the SKVR in Rotterdam, Guus has been playing successfully as a freelance musician in Holland and Belgium from that time on.

Regular or passed groups in Holland: Clazz ensemble, DelMontis, Dick de Graaf 4tet, Elizabeth Simonian, E.T. (Jeroen van Vliet), GAP, Holland Big Band, Michiel Stekelenburg 4tet, Kim Hoorweg, Rembrandt Frerichs, Ruff Sound, T.H.E.O., Wende Snijders.
As a freelancer: Michiel Borstlap, Eric Vloeimans, the Auratones, Rotterdam Jazz Orchestra, Rob van de Wouw, Wouter Hamel, Rolf Delfos en Erwin Hoorweg, Konrad Koselleck, Ben van den Dungen/Jarmo Hoogendijk.