Alexander Glazunov - Max Bruch - Reinhold Glière - Vjacheslav Schelokov - Karl Pilss - Abraham Geifmann - Tomás García Coronel


Frits Damrow

Label: Aliud
Format: SACD
Barcode: 8717775550822
Catalog number: ACDBE 592
Releasedate: 11-10-13
  • Collection of beautiful music, giving the trumpet the opportunity to demonstrate itself in the role of sensory and subtle soloinstrument
  • Less known but very interesting music from:
  • Schelokov (1904-1975) - Concert Etude -
  • Pilss (1902-1979) - Sonata -
  • Max Bruch (1838-1920) - Kol Nidrei -  a.o..
Frits Damrow held the position of the principal trumpet of the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra Amsterdam from 1991 untill 2010. He was also active as a trumpet teacher at the Conservatorium van Amsterdam from 1993 untill 2010. As a chamber musician Frits Damrow played in different groups like the Amsterdam Bach Soloists, the Netherlands Wind Ensemble, the Ebony Band, the Brass Quintet and Brass Ensemble of the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra. Since 2009 he has been Professor of trumpet at the University of the Arts in Zürich, Switzerland and since 2013 he is principal trumpet of the Sinfonieorchester Basel.
The collection of composers on this CD nevertheless wrote beautiful music, which gave the trumpet the opportunity to demonstrate itself in the role of sensory and subtle soloinstrument. The trumpet concertos of Beethoven, Mendelssohn or Strauss that were never composed are somewhat compensated with this pieces of music by less known composers.
Vjacheslav Schelokov (1904-1975), Karl Pilss (1902-1979), Alexander Glasunow (1865-1936), Max Bruch (1838-1920), Abraham Geifmann (1919-1941), Reinhold Glière (1875-1956) und Tomás García Coronel (1875-1951).