Dreams (vinyl)

Dreams (vinyl)

Sinne Eeg

Label: Stunt
Format: LP 12inch
Barcode: 0663993171111
Catalog number: STULP 17111
Releasedate: 03-11-17
- Available as cd and vinyl
- Featuring Jacob Christoffersen, Larry Koonse, Scott Colley and Joey Baron
- 180 gram - Gatefold vinyl 
DREAMS is Eeg’s ninth CD as a leader. Her last CD, the critically acclaimed and award-winning Eeg-Fonnesbæk, a duo project fea- turing only vocals and bass, was her first album distributed in the U.S. On DREAMS, she’s once again joined by her longtime collaborator Christoffersen, with the rest of the ensemble comprising some of the most respected names on the U.S. jazz scene today. Eeg first met drum- mer Joey Baron, who has played with a Who’s Who of jazz greats, when he gave a master class at The Danish National Academy of Music in 2002. Larry Koonse is a widely respected L.A.-based guitarist whom Eeg met on a gig in Japan around five years ago. The two beca- me friends and musical compatriots, and Eeg has since performed with him numerous times in Europe and Asia, as well as around the States.

Eeg was thrilled to have Scott Colley in the band. She has been a fan of the bassist for many years. Not only has he been a sideman with many well-known headliners, he’s also childhood friends with Koonse. According to Eeg, “It’s important to perform with great musicians, but it’s also important to perform with people you genuinely like. I find it essential to have a good rapport with the band, as I do with the guys on this CD. Musicians can have a lot of ego, which can make the music suffer, but when you genuinely like each other, it’s easier to listen to one another as co-equals. You can drop your ego, immerse yourself in the song, and allow the music to speak through you. It’s almost like meditating.”
Sinne Eeg is considered the preeminent jazz vocalist in Scandinavia. She’s the recipient of numerous awards, including the Danish Music Award (Denmark’s Grammy Award), which she won four times for Best Jazz Vocal Album in 2007, 2010, 2014, and 2015 for her albums Waiting for Dawn, Don’t Be So Blue, Face the Music and the aforementioned Eeg-Fonnesbæk. She’s also the first vocalist to receive the Ben Webster Prize, as well as the Prix du Jazz, awarded by France’s Academie du Jazz. In 2016 she received The Queen Ingrid Honorary Grant – the first time this prestigious award was given to a jazz musician -- and had the honor to sing onstage with the Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater for the three daughters of Denmark’s Queen Ingrid, Her Majesty Queen Margrethe, Her Royal Highness Princess Benedikte, and Her Majesty Queen Anne-Marie.