6 Suites for Cello Solo
Johann Sebastian Bach

6 Suites for Cello Solo

Pieter Wispelwey

Label: Evil Penguin
Format: CD
Barcode: 0608917721423
Catalog number: EPRC 0027
Releasedate: 27-10-17
- Here is the reprint of Wispelwey's most successful latest account of Bach's Cello Suites (previously released EPRC 0012)
- New packaging, new format (2CD) and new, tempting price!
- Critics and consumers agree: this is Bach's Suites reference account of the XXIst Century
Made at the age of 50, this is Pieter Wispelwey’s third recording of the Cello Suites by J.S. Bach, and in very many ways his most impressive. The big difference in this case is that the cello is equipped with gut strings and tuned to 392 Hz. This results in tuning roughly a half-tone lower than usual, and with lower tension in the strings this has a greater effect that you might imagine. The low tension in the strings makes the way the music ‘speaks’ very different, and this is articulated in performances which have a strong narrative feel and less emphasis on the lyrical side of the music.  Wispelwey extends shapes, plays with pauses and silence, and explores the resonance of the instrument to the full. [...] So yes, even if you know and love one or more complete recording of J.S Bach’s Suites for cello solo, then you owe it to yourself to acquire a copy of this release. If ever there was a recording which takes us behind the notes of these pieces and adds to our understanding of their qualities then this is the one. That these are deeply satisfying performances and a marvellous recording seems an almost incidental bonus. (for full review see: MusicWeb)